6 Points of ID

Haga clic aquí para Español


To obtain a New Jersey driver's license, permit, non-driver ID card or boat license, you must prove your identity by passing the 6 Points of ID Verification. You must show:

  • At least one Primary Document
  • At least one Secondary Document
  • A verifiable Social Security Number (SSN), or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN), or a letter of ineligibility for an SSN from the Social Security Administration (SSA)
    • *Please note that the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) has adopted an amendment that will remove the SSA letter option and replace it with an affidavit around June 1st for individuals to attest to their ineligibility for an SSN. 
  • Proof of address


Visit the MVC website for more information on the 6 points system.